Article 1 of Indian Constitution | Constitution of India

Article 1 of Indian Constitution As Per The Central Government Indian Acts

1. Name and territory of the Union.—

(1) India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States.

1[(2) The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule.]

(3) The territory of India shall comprise—

(a) the territories of the States;

2[(b) the Union territories specified in the First Schedule; and]

(c) such other territories as may be acquired.

1 . Subs. by the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956, s. 2, for cl. (2) (w.e.f. 1111956).
2. Subs.
by s. 2 ibid, for subclause (b) (w.e.f. 1111956).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen − 12 =