Dowry Prohibition Act 1961 (Dowry Act)

Court is the temple of justice and judges are the god of "temple of justice". Advgyan is just an educational website.
Dowry Prohibition Act As Per The Central Government Indian Acts

Dowry Prohibition Act 1961 (Dowry Act)

An Act to prohibit the giving or taking of dowry.
BE it enacted by Parliament in the Twelfth Year of the Republic of India as follows:—

The Bare Act of the Dowry Prohibition Act (Dowry Act) is the exact text of The Dowry Prohibition Act 1961, passed by the Indian legislature or Parliament. Thus, it is a replica of the original Dowry Prohibition Act available to the people of India.

Dowry Prohibition Act (Dowry Act) Section List

In each section of dowry prohibition act we will know bare act of the dowry prohibition act and detailed explanation of that particular Dowry Prohibition Act section with examples and Hon’ble Supreme Court and/or High Court Judgments.


1. Short title, extent and commencement.
2. Definition of “dowry”.
3. Penalty for giving or taking dowry.
4. Penalty for demanding dowry.
4A. Ban on advertisement.
5. Agreement for giving or taking dowry to be void.
6. Dowry to be for the benefit of the wife or her heirs.
7. Cognizance of offences.
8. Offences to be cognizable for certain purposes and to be bailable and non-compoundable.
8A. Burden of proof in certain cases.
8B. Dowry Prohibition Officers.
9. Power to make rules.
10. Power of the State Government to make rules.


  1. Dowry Prohibition Act 1961